NJIT News Room

Looking for something?
Search Newsroom
RSS Feed

COAD Honors Outstanding Architecture Students

Left to right: COAD Dean Urs Gauchat, Erica Claustro and Director of the New Jersey School of Architecture, Darius Sollohub

Congratulations to the dozen graduating bachelor’s and master’s degree candidates of the NJ School of Architecture saluted earlier in the week at the College of Architecture and Design ceremony for outstanding students.  The event followed NJIT’s morning commencement.  School medals, the top awards signifying academic achievement and design excellence, went to Alexander Leonard, Atco, (undergraduate category) and Erica Claustro (master’s).  The AIA Henry Adams Medal for graduating students who have achieved the highest scholastic records in the school’s bachelor’s and master’s degree programs were awarded to Elvira Hoxha, of Newark, (bachelor’s); the AIA Certificate of Merit, (also bachelor’s) to Cory Fernandez, Bridgewater.  The AIA Medal (master’s degree category) was given to Christine Berry, Bloomfield; and the master’s certificate to Claustro.  Graduating student Rafael De Carvalho, of Newark, received the Alpha Rho Chi Medal for leadership, service, and professional merit.  Comprehensive Studio awards for first place in the undergrad division went to Fernandez, again, as well as Tina Lee, Cedar Knolls.  Ana Pena, Roselle, took an honorable mention for these studio awards.  Xingjie Dong, Jacquelyn Haas, Bridgewater, and Eli Meltzer received the Comprehensive Studio awards in the graduate division.